Fenerbahce, Anadolu Efes to vie for President’s Cup


Reigning Turkish basketball league champion Anadolu Efes on Thursday will play Turkish Basketball Cup winners Fenerbahce Beko for the 35th Turkish Basketball Presidential Cup. 

The match between the two teams in Gaziantep, southeastern Turkey, will tip off at 19.00 local time (1600GMT) at the Karatas Sahinbey Dome.

The first Presidential Cup competition took place during the 1984-85 season, and to date 10 different teams have lifted the trophy.

Anadolu Efes, formerly known as Efes Pilsen, have clinched 11 titles, in 1986, 1992, 1993,1996, 1998, 2000, 2006, 2009, 2010, 2015, and 2018.

Fenerbahce Beko are seven-time winners of the Turkish Basketball Presidential Cup, while the Yellow Canaries are hoping to win the cup for the 8th time after their last title in 2017.

Ulkerspor clinched six titles, followed by with two cups each for Galatasaray, Pinar Karsiyaka, and Turk Telekom in the annals of the Presidential Cup. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here