Football:UEFA announces format change in Nations League


European football’s governing body UEFA announced a format change in the 2020/21 UEFA Nations League late Tuesday.

In the new structure of the tournament, Leagues A, B and C will be comprised of 16 nations while seven teams will compete in the League D.

”The teams are allocated to leagues based on the overall ranking following the 2018/19 inaugural UEFA Nations League,” UEFA said in a statement.

Turkey’s national football team will compete in the League B again following the changes in the league’s structure.

Turkey was relegated to the League C after the team had finished bottom in the Group 2 of the League Bin 2018.

The 2020/21 UEFA Nations League draw will be held in Amsterdam on March 3, 2020.

The leagues are listed as:

League A:

Portugal (holders), the Netherlands, England, Switzerland, Belgium, France, Spain, Italy, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Ukraine, Denmark, Sweden, Croatia, Poland, Germany, Iceland

League B:

Russia, Austria, Wales, Czech Republic, Scotland, Norway, Serbia, Finland, Slovakia, Turkey, Republic of Ireland, Northern Ireland, Bulgaria, Israel, Hungary, Romania

League C:

Greece, Albania, Montenegro, Georgia, North Macedonia, Kosovo, Belarus, Cyprus, Estonia, Slovenia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Moldova

League D:

Gibraltar, Faroe Islands, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Andorra, Malta, San Marino
Anadolu Agency website contains only a portion of the news stories offered to subscribers in the AA News Broadcasting System (HAS), and in summarized form. Please contact us for subscription options.

AdvertisementThe new Emirates Premium Economy has arrived on the latest Emirates A380 Emirates Get the best value from your summer holiday with exclusive offers and discounts across Dubai and the UAE with Emirates Pass

What do you think?