Besiktas eye win in European campaign to end poor form

ANKARA

Turkey’s Besiktas are seeking a win over English club Wolverhampton Wanderers in the UEFA Europa League on Thursday to boost their spirits. 

This season, Besiktas have been on a disappointing streak for their fans both in the domestic league and European campaign.

The Istanbul team is currently in the relegation zone in the Turkish Super Lig.

Besiktas were previously stunned by Slovakia’s Slovan Bratislava in the Europa League, as the Black Eagles lost 4-2 in Bratislava last month.

On Thursday, Besiktas will host the Wolverhampton Wanderers in a match in Group K — the first time in history the Wolves face a Turkish team.

The match at Vodafone Park will kick off at 7.55 p.m. local time in Turkey (1655GMT).

Before week two in the Europa League, Portugal’s Braga are leading Group K with three points.

Slovan Bratislava are currently in second position with three points as well.

Besiktas and the Wolves have no points each, as both lost their first matches in the league.  

Basaksehir to host Monchengladbach

Istanbul Basaksehir, another Turkish team in the Europa League, will take on German club Borussia Monchengladbach on Thursday.

In a previous match in Group J, Basaksehir were defeated 4-0 by Italy’s Serie A club Roma in Rome.

Thursday’s game in Istanbul will begin at 7.55 p.m. in Turkey (1655GMT).  

Trabzonspor to face Basel

Turkey’s Trabzonspor will host Swiss team Basel in a Group C match — their first time facing a Swiss opponent.

The game in Medical Park Stadium will start at 10 p.m. in Turkey (1900GMT).

Trabzonspor previously lost to Spanish club Getafe 1-0 in this group.
Anadolu Agency website contains only a portion of the news stories offered to subscribers in the AA News Broadcasting System (HAS), and in summarized form. Please contact us for subscription options.

Leave a Reply