Football: Turkey to face Albania in Euro 2020 quals


Turkey’s national football team will take on Albania for the UEFA EURO 2020 qualifiers on Friday.

The match will kick off at 9.45 p.m. (1845GMT) in Istanbul’s Ulker Stadium, the home ground of Fenerbahce.

Turkey have an excellent home performance in the Group H, winning all their three matches.

They beat Moldova 4-0 in Eskisehir, France 2-0 in Konya and Andorra 1-0 in Istanbul and were yet to concede any goal in Turkey.

Turkey currently top the Group H with 15 points followed by France sharing the same point in standings.

Iceland stand at the third place with 12 points while Albania have 9 points in the fourth spot.

Moldova scored 3 points in the group, beating only Andorra 1-0 in six group matches.

Andorra bottom the group void of any point in six matches.

Following the match against Albania, Turkey will face the latest World Cup champions France at Stade de France in Saint-Denis on Monday.

Turkey have 5 wins over Albania

Turkey had five victories, four defeats and two draws over Albania in history.

Turkish team last won against Albania 2-0 in the first match of the Group H held in Shkoder on March 22.

Turkish midfielder Dorukhan Tokoz, 23, will miss the upcoming match due to a major knee injury.

Besiktas’ Tokoz twisted his knee during a Turkish league match on Sunday.

Here is the Turkish squad for Albania, France matches:

Goalkeepers: Mert Gunok (Basaksehir), Gokhan Akkan (Caykur Rizespor), Sinan Bolat (Royal Antwerp), Ugurcan Cakir (Trabzonspor)

Defenders: Mehmet Zeki Celik (Lille), Nazim Sangare (Antalyaspor), Caglar Soyuncu (Leicester City), Kaan Ayhan (Fortuna Dusseldorf), Merih Demiral (Juventus), Ozan Kabak (Schalke 04), Umut Meras (Le Havre), Omer Bayram (Galatasaray)

Midfielders: Deniz Turuc, Emre Belozoglu, Ozan Tufan (Fenerbahce), Efecan Karaca (Aytemiz Alanyaspor), Yusuf Yazici (Lille), Abdulkadir Parmak (Trabzonspor), Mahmut Tekdemir, Irfan Can Kahveci (Basaksehir), Okay Yokuslu (Celta Vigo), Hakan Calhanoglu (AC Milan)

Forwards: Burak Yilmaz (Besiktas), Cenk Tosun (Everton), Enes Unal (Real Valladolid), Kenan Karaman (Fortuna Dusseldorf).
Anadolu Agency website contains only a portion of the news stories offered to subscribers in the AA News Broadcasting System (HAS), and in summarized form. Please contact us for subscription options.

AdvertisementThe new Emirates Premium Economy has arrived on the latest Emirates A380 Emirates Get the best value from your summer holiday with exclusive offers and discounts across Dubai and the UAE with Emirates Pass

What do you think?