Indonesia’s leader unveils cabinet including archrival

JAKARTA, Indonesia
Indonesia’s President Joko Widodo announced Wednesday the new cabinet of his next five-year tenure, surprisingly including his rival in April’s polls and opposition leader of Widodo’s first term.

Sworning in Sunday as the president for his second term, Widodo revealed 34 ministers making up the new government in a ceremony held at the presidential palace in the capital Jakarta.

Widodo’s rival in the presidential election and the Gerindra Party leader Prabowo Subianto was appointed as defense minister.

Former National Police Chief Tito Karnavian took up the office of interior minister, while retired Gen. Fachrul Razi was appointed as the religious affairs minister and Nadiem Makarim, the founder of mobile transport application Gojek, was named as the minister of education and culture.

The new cabinet included 18 fresh names, while 16 ministers in the old cabinet were reshuffled.

Retno Marsudi assumed the office of the foreign affairs minister, as Airlangga Hartarto was appointed as the economic co-ordination minister and Sri Mulyani Indrawati as finance minister.

Muhammad Mahfud MD will lead the team of political, legal, and security affairs, while Terawan Agus Putranto will be in charge of the Health Ministry.

Edhy Prabowo was appointed as marine and fisheries minister, Siti Nurbaya assumed the office of the forestry minister and Agus Suparmanto will serve as commerce minister.

In the election witnessing the rivalry of 16 parties, nine parties were eligible to enter the House of Representatives (DPR) after exceeding the 4% threshold.

Indonesia’s Democratic Struggle Party (PDI-P), of which Widodo is a member, was the first party in the parliament to gain 128 lawmakers.

The main opposition Gerindra Party gained 78 deputies.

The Indonesian Service Party (Golkar) secured 85 seats in the assembly, the National Democratic Party (NasDem) gained 59 seats, while the National Awakening Party (PKB) had 58 seats, the Democratic Party (DP) 54 seats, the Prosperous Justice Party (PKS) 50 seats, the National Task Party (PAN) 44 seats, and the United Development Party (PPP) is represented by 19 seats.

Widodo’s tenure, who was elected president for the second time with 55.5% of votes in April’s polls, will expire in 2024.
Anadolu Agency website contains only a portion of the news stories offered to subscribers in the AA News Broadcasting System (HAS), and in summarized form. Please contact us for subscription options.

AdvertisementThe new Emirates Premium Economy has arrived on the latest Emirates A380 Emirates Get the best value from your summer holiday with exclusive offers and discounts across Dubai and the UAE with Emirates Pass

What do you think?