Nigeria’s ruling party wins 2 states in local elections


Nigeria’s ruling All Progressive Party (APC) has won two states in the staggered elections for the seats of governors which was marred by violence.

Oil-rich Bayelsa state in the country’s south and the volatile central Kogi state were won by President Mohammadu Buhari’s APC in the weekend poll, reducing the opposition party Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)’s control to 16 states.

The results of the elections were announced by the country’s electoral body on Monday.

PDP had ruled the Bayelsa State for two decades.

The ruling APC now controls 19 of the 36 states in Nigeria, while the opposition PDP controls 16. The remaining one state is ruled by a smaller party.

Elections in the two states were held separately from other states, following a court ruling that had nullified the tenure of their governors.

Buhari on Monday sympathized with the families of those killed in the election violence in both states.

“All political actors and stakeholders must take deliberate steps to eschew electoral violence, as a peaceful and orderly process is vital to quest for enduring democracy,” the president said in a statement issued by his media advisor.
Anadolu Agency website contains only a portion of the news stories offered to subscribers in the AA News Broadcasting System (HAS), and in summarized form. Please contact us for subscription options.

AdvertisementThe new Emirates Premium Economy has arrived on the latest Emirates A380 Emirates Get the best value from your summer holiday with exclusive offers and discounts across Dubai and the UAE with Emirates Pass

What do you think?