EU takes UAE, Switzerland off tax havens lists


European Union finance ministers have agreed to remove the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Switzerland from its lists of countries deemed to be acting as tax havens.

The UAE was removed from the bloc’s black list that covered jurisdictions that have failed to collaborate with the EU on tax matters, while Switzerland was taken off from its grey list, according to the EU announcement on Thursday.

“The UAE and the Marshall Islands have both passed the necessary reforms to implement the commitments they had made to improve by the end of 2018 their tax policy framework by introducing economic substance requirements,” said the statement.

Also, Switzerland, Albania, Costa Rica, Mauritius and Serbia deem to be compliant with EU tax good governance principles.

On the other hand, countries American Samoa, Belize, Fiji, Guam, Oman, Samoa, Trinidad and Tobago, the United States Virgin Islands and Vanuatu are still on the EU’s blacklist on tax matters.

The EU tax haven lists were made in 2017 and track jurisdictions that do not cooperate with the bloc on tax matters.

The EU list contributes to on-going efforts to prevent tax avoidance and promote good governance principles such as tax transparency, fair taxation or international standards against tax base erosion and profit shifting.

Anadolu Agency website contains only a portion of the news stories offered to subscribers in the AA News Broadcasting System (HAS), and in summarized form. Please contact us for subscription options.

AdvertisementThe new Emirates Premium Economy has arrived on the latest Emirates A380 Emirates Get the best value from your summer holiday with exclusive offers and discounts across Dubai and the UAE with Emirates Pass

What do you think?